Geographic location: Lot 16, Conc. 11 Stanhope
Current address: 1584 Big Hawk Lake Rd
Date range: late 1860s to the present
Interesting facts: Rebuilt in early 2005, this chute was originally built in the late1860s and is the last one of its kind in the province! The chute is 220' long and 13' across at its widest point and when the winter melt waters cascade down it's length, you can hardly hear yourself think. Go to the Hawk Lake Log Chute website for more information.
The new park, interpretive pavillion, picnic area and trail make a wonderful - and very educational, stopping point. Plan to spend some time here! This photo is from 1920 and is the oldest photo on record.
Dams and log chutes were used extensively between 1880 and the 1930‘s to move logs into the Gull River of the Trent Watershed. At one time there were thousands of chutes around the province and dozens in the county of Haliburton. Today the Hawk Lake Log Chute at the outflow of Big Hawk is the only remaining chute of its kind in Ontario. The chute has been rebuilt three times, in 1947 and again in 1971 as part of what were called 'winter works projects‘ funded by the Federal Government. In 2004 a project was undertaken to rebuild the chute and modify its surroundings into a park, including the trailhead of a new hiking trail. This work was completed in the spring of 2005. The location of this chute is a spectacular example of 'pure Haliburton.' The Kennisis River, the water of which flows through the dam and chute, meanders through a picturesque gorge of one million-year-old pre-Cambrian landscape. In 1909 Government House, home of the dam keeper at Hawk Lake, was built where Big Hawk Lake flows into the Kennisis River and still stands as a private home today. Photos of the log chute over the years can be seen today at the Stanhope Museum or at www.stanhopemuseum.on.ca. Source: Halls and Hawk Lakes Property Owners Association Lake Plan, May 2006
Public access: Yes
Current use: Historic site
Information source: Stanhope Heritage Driving Tour brochure / Stanhope Museum collection
Photo information & source: